Not all that glitters is gold: my YouTube tell-all

To Be Seen & Safe, Issue #11

*Edit 9/12/24: It has come to my attention that many new “subscribers” are coming from a Reddit link. I am manually removing each and every one of you off my list. If my writing, that is trademarked and protected behind a paywall, gets shared/leaked to a very public forum such as Reddit, rest assured— as I have your emails, IP addresses, locations, and names, I will find you and take legal action. 

If you are only coming here for “tea,” you better back the fuck off. My writing is not for you.*

Dear beautiful reader,

Thanks for being patient with me, as my newsletter comes a week delayed, as I was super sick for the last eight days of August (still have a cough!). How have you been?

It’s crazy to say that it’s been nearly three years since I’ve quit my job as a YouTuber/influencer, and truthfully, I feel like I got my life back. And I mean, my real life back, not my curated, edited one. In that time, I’ve had a lot of time to process and reflect all that I experienced. This is my YouTube tell-all that spans 10 years of all my influencing lore.

In this story, you’ll find:

  • My origin story of how I got started at 15 years old

  • How much money I even made

  • The beautiful dreams I got to actualize

  • The beautiful people I met and places I got to go

But also:

  • All the strange, fucked up people & experiences I had

  • The toxic behind-the-scenes of the industry

  • A cautionary, old tale of “never meet your idols”

  • The inevitable impact that this job has on your mental health

  • The truth and reasoning behind why I eventually quit

  • How I am doing now

I’m not going to lie, this one was an equally fun and emotionally tough one to write. For 10 days straight, I spent 5-6 hours writing it everyday nonstop and then at the end of each day, found myself completely emotionally spent and wept in the night. It’s strange because when you’re living it, it all feels so normal, just another day in the life. But now, I look back and go, “I can’t believe that all happened to you.” For privacy reasons, I’ve changed the names of many and censored important details, but this is undoubtedly one of my most revealing stories yet.

Subscribe to Seen & Safe to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Seen & Safe to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

Reply

or to participate.