I'm simply an ogre, part two

To Be Seen & Safe, Issue #5.5

I’m Simply an Ogre by Amy Lee

Part two | Free excerpt below:

Age 27 

“Hey, your younger cousin got ssangkkeopul susul (double eye-lid plastic surgery),” my mom proclaims at the dinner table, as she’s watching me eat. I’m visiting my childhood home for the day. “You should get it, it’s not too late. She seems really happy and she looks REALLY pretty,” She continues.

It’s been years since she has harped on about this, foolishly having me believe maybe she finally just let it go or gave up. I have been proven wrong. At all once, my life-long suppressed rage and resentment that I haven’t accessed in years towards my mother about this topic all comes boiling to the top of my head. I feel like screaming, smashing my plate on the ground in protest, but instead, I look up at her and take another bite of the home-cooked food and calmly say, “no, thanks, I’m good” and carefully put my dirty dish in the sink when I’m done.

Thank you for reading To Be Seen & Safe!

Please help me manifest my NYT-best-selling book deal:

♥️ Upgrade for only $1.11/month
♥️ Forward this to a friend with a suggestion to subscribe
♥️ Screenshot or share on socials tagging me @amy_lee
♥️ Share personal reflections, thoughts, or requests to be featured by responding to this email

Premium subscribers, please read the full story here:

Subscribe to Seen & Safe to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Seen & Safe to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

Reply

or to participate.